Air Zone Management



An air zone is defined as a geographic region within the province of Saskatchewan that shares similar air quality characteristics and challenges. Air zone boundaries are established by considering features such as topography, meteorology, economic activities, pollution sources and common air quality issues.

Air zones are managed by a non-profit Board of Directors comprised of public, industry, government and non-government members. These stakeholders work together to monitor and manage regional air quality by identifying local air quality issues and developing solutions to address local needs. Air quality monitoring is conducted through an independent contractor.

Saskatchewan has two active air zones. The province's first air zone, Southeast Saskatchewan Airshed Association, was incorporated in 2005. In February 2012, a second air zone, Western Yellowhead Air Management Zone was incorporated. Initial stakeholder meetings have taken place for the third air zone in the Regina - Moose Jaw - Yorkton region.

Plans are underway to establish air zones throughout the entire province. This will meet the requirements of the Canada-wide Air Quality Management System implementation schedule, which was approved by the Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment (CCME) on October 11, 2012. Air zone management aligns with the ministry's results-based regulatory model and Saskatchewan Environmental Code. Air zone management provides flexibility to consider regional differences while ensuring national consistency, managing issues associated with trans-boundary influences and providing a level playing field for industry.

